educative.io

Applying this solution

Hello,

Just a curiosity. How does this problem and solution apply to work that we might do?

It is a fantastic problem and solution. As I am relatively new to doing the kinds of algorithms, for this problem specifically, I am having a really hard time imagining coming up with this solution and this proof on the spot within a 30 minute interview.

I know it now, but if I didn’t see this exact problem set on this platform, what would be the logical steps I would take to come to this conclusion within a short amount of time?

Thank you,

Jeff

Course: Grokking Coding Interview Patterns in JavaScript - Learn Interactively
Lesson: Solution: Find The Duplicate Number

1 Like

Hello @Jeff_Huckabay,

Thank you for reaching out to us. I’m glad you’re curious about how the discussed problem and solution can be useful in real-world scenarios. Your thoughts on this are really valuable, and I appreciate your feedback.

Understanding and applying Floyd’s Cycle Detection Algorithm, or any algorithm, in real life is like figuring out patterns and structures in a problem you want to solve. This duplication problem often arises in real-world scenarios, especially when dealing with data accuracy and validation tasks. Especially when we have datasets expected to have distinct values within a certain range, we have to quickly identify any missing or duplicate values, which can help validate the data’s integrity and accuracy.

Let me also try to explain the steps you could take to solve similar problems quickly:

1. First, understand the problem statement and identify its constraints and requirements.

2. Think about similar problems you have encountered before. Note what is common or different in this particular problem.